No Status Selected
No Tags
UserPost

11:31 am
November 6, 2010

Suzy-Q

Oklahoma

posts 54

We just bought our first TT, just moved up from a pop-up.  With the pop-up we kept everything in the van.  Now I need suggestions as to what to pack in the TT.  What not to pack. Paper vs plastic dishes.  I'm a real newbie when it comes to camping in a TT.  We/ve tent camped and pop-up camping  for 30 years.  So we are really excited about this new adventure.Smile

Suzy-Q

2010 14RK , 300W solar

8:14 pm
November 6, 2010

sandersmr

Texas

posts 338

I would say keep it similar to your pop-up.  Right now I still use mostly paper and plastic like I did tent camping because I'm not into doing dishes.  But as we continue to take it out on short jaunts, I find myself deciding on certain things – we keep a list going.

I have a small skillet and small sauce pan – I've decided I need a larger skillet.  I bought really cheap silverware that's easy to wash.  We have cheap cooking utensils – spoons and spatula, can opener – and storage devices – the disposable kinds and baggies.

We have a collapsible broom and dust pan.  With the doggies, it's been a boon to keeping the floor clean.

I've stolen some mod ideas here as far as baskets and small drawers to help organize stuff – there is too little storage to not be organized.

I have sheets and blankets for each bed – I thought I would use sleeping bags, but it was actually too warm for sleeping bags the first two times we went camping.  Oh I have small fans that we can use for air circulation when it's really warm – a 5000 BTU AC barely handles the Texas heat.

I'm sure that as we continue to use our TT, I will take some stuff out, but come up with other must haves.  It's a process of continued determination.